Goodbye for now (… and thanks for all the fish)

I’m going on hiatus.  That is, for a while this blog will be an empty space.  Because, well, because, I thought entry into the blogosphere would allow me to speak the truth of what I’ve learned over the past 30 years.  Now, it’s apparent that truth has no place here (has it ever found such a place?).

At his blog, The frailest thing, Michael Sacasas writes: “This is not an easy decision to come to. Writing in this space has been one of my great pleasures over the last few years, and the conversations I’ve been able to participate in through this blog have been the closest thing I have to an intellectual community. I’m deeply appreciative of my little band of loyal readers and commenters, some of whom have been hanging around for quite a while.  I should say that this is only farewell for now. I do not intend to permanently shut down The Frailest Thing. Consider this an extended hiatus. Most likely for a few months, perhaps a little longer. Also, I’ll probably pop in occasionally during that time to give an occasional status update.” : http://thefrailestthing.com/2015/07/14/farewell-for-now/

I couldn’t put the matter better.  Our reasons here are considerably different – Michael needs to complete his doctoral degree; I, on the other hand, have pretty much said all that I wanted to say – for now.

The blogosphere is both a wonderful space for communication and – a mess.  It’s pretty much a shot in the dark to find anything interesting in it.  Sometime the shot rings true; oft it misses its mark.

And one wants to say wonderful complicated things; but short blurts of suitable sound-bytes attract greater attention.

I note that the new configuration of the WordPress blog-zone, which no longer allows re-blogging, comes just at the right time for me to go on hiatus.  Re-blogging allowed communication and dissemination.  Without it, we are left voicing private thoughts into the websphere.

So I’ll have to rethink my being here and the kind of sharing I want to engage.

I hope to be posting a new ‘blog’ – but it will be simply the reproduction of a novel I wrote recently.  And because it is a pastiche of a heavily copy-righted character, there’s the likelihood it will not be up for reading for very long.

But that’s the nature of web-posting: ephemeral, without impact, negated by its very existence.

Which leads me to the blog post I would have re-blogged if that had been allowed: a post by nannus he offered to rebuttal to my recent post on Heidegger:

http://asifoscope.org/2015/07/13/in-which-sense-does-this-blog-post-exist/

Complex and requiring much thought to reason through, as is true of his best posts.  Often I spend a week or so thinking through his posts, and by the time I feel I have a grip on it, the moment to reply has passed.  That’s a good thing!  Where thought is not demanded, no need to think.

I also want to recognize blogs that I have followed regularly:

Most importantly, https://scientiasalon.wordpress.com – I have bounced off posts and topics at this site so often, really, Massimo Piglucci should pay me for advertisement!

http://esoterx.com/ – one of the most amusing, informative, and insightful of the blogs I follow.

http://kstreet607.com – a news blog, that keeps tabs on events in the most coherent and direct way available on the web.

https://stephenpruis.wordpress.com – keep up the good fight!

https://sensuouscurmudgeon.wordpress.com – A different, more focused fight, but no less worthy of fighting.

https://maasaiboys.wordpress.com – makagutu’s best quality is that he shows forth thinking in motion – when he reads it, he brings it to us; when he has an argument with another, he checks it with us.  That sort of inquisitiveness is what intellection is really all about, both in and well beyond philosophy.

http://variouspontifications.com – One of the most amusing satirists in the blogosphere, sincere, even passionate on occasion, but always irreverent and (strangely) self-deprecating.

https://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/author/whyevolutionistrue/ – actually, I stopped following Jerry Coyne’s blog some six months ago; I got tired of his deprecation of philosophy – and, frankly, I just hate cats -smelly, uncaring beasts with no consideration for others whatsoever.  But this was an important blog for me once, and still has some interesting information to share.

Well, that’s it.  I’m glad I had my say; and when I think of anything more to say, it’ll show up here (should WordPress allow – feel free to reproduce anything I’ve posted or written as long as it’s not taken out of context and attributes its authorship properly).

Otherwise, and “proximally and for the most part” (as Heidegger would say) –

So long – and thanks for all the fish.

So long and thanks for all the fish
So sad that it should come to this
We tried to warn you all that your dead

You may not share our intellect
Which might explain your disrespect
For all the natural wonders that
grow around you

So long, so long and thanks
for all the fish

The world’s about to be destroyed
There’s no point getting all annoyed
Lie back and let the planet dissolve(around you)

Despite those nets of tuna fleets
We thought that most of you were sweet
Especially tiny tots and your
pregnant women

So long, so long, so long, so long, so long
So long, so long, so long, so long, so long

So long, so long and thanks
for all the fish

If I had just one last wish
I would like a tasty fish
If we could just change one thing
We would all have learned to sing.

Come one and all
Man and Mammal
Side by Side in life’s great gene pool

(oooohhh oooohhh oooaahhhhh- ah ahh)

So long, so long, so long, so long, so long
So long, so long, so long, so long, so long

So long, so long and, !Thanks!
for all the fish!

(Lyricist: Hilary Summers)

One thought on “Goodbye for now (… and thanks for all the fish)

  1. My “Like” does not mean “Like” here. You will be missed and I hope this is not permanent.
    I can still see a Reblog button above this page, but I have not tried it. Maybe it is a local problem with my blog. I’ll ask the support guys. Thanks anyway for the honor.
    I hope you don’t delete this blog, so we could stll read your articles even if you don’t write anything new.
    Buy for now, hope to read from you again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

